The University of Birmingham (informally Birmingham University) is a British red brick university located in the city of Birmingham, United Kingdom. It received its royal charter in 1900 as a successor to Birmingham Medical School (1825) and Mason Science College (1875). Birmingham was the first red brick university to gain a charter and thus university status. It is a member of the Russell Group of research universities and a founding member of Universitas 21.

The student population includes around 17,000 undergraduate and 9,000 postgraduate students, making the 11th largest in the UK. University of Birmingham was ranked 10th in the UK by QS World University Rankings in 2013. The annual income of the institution for 2010–11 was£470.7 million, with an expenditure of £443.7 million. The University is home to the Barber Institute of Fine Arts, housing works by Van Gogh, Picasso and Monet, the Lapworth Museum of Geology, and the Joseph Chamberlain Memorial Clock Tower, which is a prominent landmark visible from many parts of the city.

Birmingham’s sport activities have been consistently ranked within the top three in British Universities competitions for the past 15 years. Alumni include former British Prime Ministers Neville Chamberlain and Stanley Baldwin, foreign heads of state and government, royalty, and eight Nobel laureates.