The University of St Andrews (informally St Andrews University or St Andrews) is a public research university in St Andrews, Fife, Scotland. It is the oldest university in Scotland and the third oldest in the English-speaking world, next to Oxford University and Cambridge University. It was founded between 1410 and 1413 when a Papal Bull was issued by the Avignon Antipope Benedict XIII to a school of higher learning formed by a small group ofAugustinian clergy. St Andrews is one of the four ancient universities of Scotland. In post-nominals the university’s name is abbreviated as St And(from the Latin Sancti Andreae).

St Andrews is ranked as the fourth best university in the UK by the Guardian University Guide 2013 and the Times Good University Guide 2014. Its Physics and Astronomy programme is ranked second in the UK, after the University of Cambridge, by the Times University Guide. The Times Higher Education World Universities Ranking names St Andrews among the world’s Top 20 Arts and Humanities universities. In the 2012 National Student Survey St Andrews had the highest student satisfaction among Scottish Universities. St Andrews requires the 3rd highest entry grades of any comprehensive university in the UK. 

The University of St Andrews is located in the small town of St Andrews in rural Fife. In term time over a third of the town’s population is either a staff member or student of the university. St Andrews also has a diverse student body with over 30% of its intake consisting of international students from well over 100 countries, and with 15% of the student body coming from North America. 

The University’s sport teams compete in BUCS competitions. The student body is well known for preserving a variety of university traditions. The university is associated with 5 Nobel Laureates (i.e. 2 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 1 Nobel Peace Prizeand 1 Nobel Prize in Literature).