The University of York (informally York University, or simply York, abbreviated as Ebor for post-nominals), is a research-intensive plate glass university located in the city of York, England. Established in 1963, the campus university has expanded to more than thirty departments and centres, covering a wide range of subjects. York has been named the 7th best university under 50 years old in the world (and 1st within the UK), building a “reputation to rival Oxford and Cambridge”. 

Along with the LSE, York is the only university in the UK to displace the University of Oxford to second place in league tables, second only to University of Cambridge. The university also places among the top 10 in the country, top 20 universities in Europe, and ranked 96th in the world, according to the 2011 QS World University Rankings. York is among the United Kingdom’s most selective universities, having one of the highest entry requirements in the country for undergraduate studies, being described as a “genuinely world class” institution. In the 2008 Research Assessment Exercise, York was also named as the 8th best research institution in the United Kingdom, the Sunday Times university of the year in 2003 and Times Higher Education 
university of the year in 2010. 

In 2012, York was invited to join the Russell Group in recognition of the institution’s world-leading research and outstanding teaching. The University attracts a student body with a wide range of backgrounds (with over 41,000 part-time and full-time student applications in 2010/11), including a large number of international students, and a relatively high number of state school students in comparison to other well-ranked universities according to The Times Good University Guide. Situated to the south-east of the city of York, the university campus is approximately 200 acres (0.81 km2) in size, incorporating the York Science Park and the National Science Learning Centre. Its wildlife, campus lakes and greenery are prominent, and the institution also occupies buildings in the city of York. 

Every student is allocated to one of the university’s eight colleges, as is the case at the traditional collegiate universities of Oxford, Cambridge, and Durham. In May 2007 the university was granted permission to build an extension to its main campus, on arable land just east of the nearby village of Heslington. The land was removed from the green belt especially for the purpose of extending the university. The second campus, known as Heslington East, opened in 2009 and now hosts two colleges and three departments as well as conference spaces, sports village and a business start-up ‘incubator’. In 2013 construction began on a ninth college, officially named Constantine after the Roman emperor Constantine the Great, proclaimed Augustus in York in 306 AD.




Graduate & Postgraduate Courses

Undergraduate Courses


Application Deadlines: Please check the respective UG and PG course information



Graduate & Postgraduate Courses

Undergraduate Courses


Financial aid: All Courses for international students


Other Support: For all incoming students


Campus life: For all incoming students