Iowa State University of Science and Technology, more commonly known as Iowa State University (ISU), is a public land-grant and space-grant research university located in Ames, Iowa, United States. Until 1959 it was known as the Iowa State College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts.Founded in 1858 and coeducational from its start, Iowa State became the nation’s first designated land-grant institution when the Iowa Legislature accepted the provisions of the 1862 Morrill Act on September 11, 1862, making Iowa the first state in the nation to do so. Iowa State’s academic offerings are administered today through eight colleges, including the graduate college, that offer over 100 bachelor’s degree programs, 112 master’s degree programs, and 83 at the Ph.D. level, plus a professional degree program in Veterinary Medicine.ISU is classified as a Research University with very high research activity (RU/VH) by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. The university is a group member of the American Association of Universities and the Universities Research Association, and a charter member of the Big 12 Conference.


Iowa State is a large, prestigious university with a friendly home town personality. Its 26,000 students choose from 100+ majors, study with world class scholars and keep more than 500 student organizations going strong. Student studying on a rock on central campus. U.S. News & World Report ranks Iowa State among the top 50 public national universities. Half of ISU freshman get an early boost in academic success by participating in Iowa State’s highly touted learning communities. So many students study or work abroad that ISU is 18th in the nation in that category.



Graduate & Postgraduate Courses

Undergraduate Courses

Application Deadlines: The 


​Graduate & Postgraduate Courses

Undergraduate Courses

Financial aid: All Courses for international students

Other Support: For all incoming students

Campus life: For all incoming students



Some major courses:

  • Biological Sciences (BSc)      
  • Aerospace Engineering (BSc) 
  • Bachelor of Agricultural Business
  • Architecture (BSc) 
  • Biochemistry (BSc) 
  • Chemical Engineering (BSc) 
  • Civil Engineering (BSc) 
  • Chemistry (BSc) 
  • Computer Engineering (BSc) 
  • Computer Science (BSc) 
  • Construction Engineering (BSc) 
  • Electrical Engineering (BSc) 
  • Industrial Engineering (BSc) 
  • Interior Design (BSc) 
  • Materials Engineering (BSc)
  • Mechanical Engineering (BSc) 
  • Software Engineering (BSc)
  • Veterinary Medicine (BSc) 
  • Aerospace Engineering (MSc) 
  • Master of Architecture (M.Arch.) 
  • Master of Business Administration (M.B.A.) 
  • Chemical Engineering (MSc)
  • Chemistry (MSc) 
  • Civil Engineering (MSc)   
  • Computer Engineering (MSc) 
  • Computer Science (MSc)
  • Electrical Engineering (MSc) 
  • Graphic Design (MSc) 
  • Master of Landscape Architecture 
  • Mechanical Engineering (MSc)
  • Neuroscience (MSc) 
  • Physics (MSc) 
  • Systems Engineering (MSc) 
  • Textiles and Clothing (MSc) 
  • Veterinary Clinical Sciences (MSc)