The University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign (U of I, University of Illinois, UIUC, or simply Illinois) is a public research-intensive university in the U.S. state of Illinois. A land-grant university, it is the flagship campus of the University of Illinois system. The University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign is the second oldest public university in the state (after Illinois State University), and is a founding member of the Big Ten Conference. It is a member of the Association of American Universities and is designated as a RU/VH Research University (very high research activities). The campus library system possesses the second-largest university library in the United States and the fifth-largest in the country overall.

​The university comprises 17 colleges that offer more than 150 programs of study. Additionally, the university operates an extension that serves 2.7 million registrants per year around the state of Illinois and beyond. The campus holds 286 buildings on 1,468 acres (594 ha) in the twin cities of Champaign and Urbana; its annual operating budget in 2011 was over $1.7 billion.


Since its founding in 1867, the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign has earned a reputation as a world-class leader in research, teaching, and public engagement. University of Illinois is a world leader in research, teaching and public engagement. It stands out for its breadth of programs, broad academic excellence, and internationally renowned faculty.

A talented and highly respected faculty is the University’s most significant resource. Many are recognized for exceptional scholarship with memberships in such organizations as the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the National Academy of Sciences, and the National Academy of Engineering. The success of University of Illinois faculty is matched by that of our alumni: 11 are Nobel laureates and another 18 have won Pulitzer Prizes.

Students and scholars find the University an ideal place to conduct research. The Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology is a model for interdisciplinary research, where eighteen research groups from sixteen University departments work within and across three broadly defined themes: biological intelligence, human-computer intelligent interaction, and molecular and electronic nanostructures. The University is also home to the National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA).


​​Some Major courses:

  • Aviation Human Factors (BSc)
  • Master of Business Administration (MBA)
  • Finance (MSc) 
  • Accountancy (MSc) 
  • Tax (MSc) 
  • Aerospace Engineering (MSc) 
  • Agricultural & Biological Engineering (MSc) 
  • Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering (MSc)
  • Civil & Environmental Engineering (MSc)
  • Electrical & Computer Engineering (MSc)
  • Materials Science & Engineering (MSc) 
  • Mechanical Sciences & Engineering (MSc) 
  • Juris Doctor (JD) 
  • Master of Law (LLM) 
  • Medical Scholars Program (MD)